2755

dropIn – Service for sex workers

 

The dropIn is a free service for sex workers which offers medical care and social, psychological, and material support to every sex-worker in need. The service also fights against social exclusion of sex workers and organises prevention campaigns on sexually transmitted diseases.

This department is open to every female and male sex worker, transvestite or transsexual, professional or occasional, without distinction as to nationality, status (legal or illegal), or age.

As a safe, neutral, and anonymous space, the service respects people without morally judging their life choices. Listening to the visitors is at the center of the team’s work, followed by taking care of the beneficiaries. Feeling solidarity with sex-workers, dropIn works towards bettering their life conditions and defending their interests.

The dropIn’s major objectives are :

  • Defending sex workers’ interests ;
  • Attending to their needs ;
  • Fighting for a better quality of life ;
  • Showing solidarity ;
  • Denouncing any form of discrimination ;
  • Being accessible and ready to listen ;
  • Preventing health problems (vaccines, etc.).

 

History

In 1995, a vaccination program against hepatitis was organised. The demand was too great and the needs too varied. The creation of a service exclusively aimed at sex workers without any discrimination based on age, nationality, or gender became essential.

Therefore, the voluntary workers of the Red Cross Aidsberodung and Stop Aids Now asbl became active in the area of the central station in Luxembourg City to raise sex workers’ awareness of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection and other sexually transmitted diseases and infections (STDs and STIs).

The dropIn service opened its doors on 28th October 1998. Today, more and more sex workers benefit from our social and medical services and from the team’s human presence.

 

For further information on issues regarding prostitution :

2755

dropIn – Dispensaire pour Sexworkers

 

Le dropIn est un dispensaire pour sex workers qui propose un soutien et un suivi médical, social, psychologique et matériel à tout travailleur du sexe le nécessitant. Le service s’investit également contre l’exclusion sociale des prostitué(e)s et organise des campagnes de prévention des maladies sexuellement transmissibles.

Ce service est ouvert à toute femme et à tout homme prostitué(e), travesti(e) ou transsexuel(le), professionnel(le) ou occasionnel(le), sans distinction de nationalité, de statut (légal ou illégal) ou d’âge.

Espace sûr, neutre et anonyme, le dispensaire respecte sans jugement moral les choix de vie des personnes. L’écoute des bénéficiaires est au cœur du travail de l’équipe, dont la prise en charge personnalisée des bénéficiaires découle. Solidaire de la situation des prostitué(e)s, le dropIn travaille à l’amélioration de leurs conditions de vie et à la défense de leurs intérêts.

Les objectifs majeurs du dropIn sont ainsi :

  • de défendre les intérêts des sex workers ;
  • de savoir répondre à leurs besoins ;
  • de s’engager pour une meilleure qualité de vie ;
  • de se montrer solidaire ;
  • de dénoncer toute discrimination ;
  • d’être disponible et à l’écoute ;
  • de prévenir les problèmes de santé (vaccinations).

 

Historique

En 1995, un programme de vaccination contre l’hépatite fut réalisé. La demande fut trop grande et les besoins trop différents. La création d’un service destiné exclusivement aux prostitué(e)s, sans distinction d’âge, de nationalité ou de sexe, s’est alors avérée indispensable.

Ainsi, des volontaires de l’Aidsberodung de la Croix-Rouge et du Stop Aids Now asbl sont devenus actifs dans le quartier de la gare centrale à Luxembourg afin de sensibiliser les prostitué(e)s sur l’infection par le Virus d’Immunodéficience Humaine (V.I.H.) et d’autres maladies et infections sexuellement transmissibles (M.S.T. et I.S.T.).

Le service dropIn a ouvert ses portes pour la clientèle le 22 octobre 1998. Aujourd’hui, de plus en plus de sex workers profitent de ses services sociaux, médicaux et de la présence humaine de l’équipe.

 

Pour plus d’informations sur les problématiques liées à la prostitution :