2755

You are a professional

“Little Charel is one of my students and I cannot understand the way he reacts in certain situations. He is an intelligent boy, but he does not pay attention. He is disruptive and cannot seem to make any friends among his classmates. I can talk to him about it, talk to his parents and so forth, but there is no improvement and consequently everyone else is paying the price … Could this have anything to do with the fact that he is adopted ? “

“The school Noémie goes to has already contacted me several times to tell me that she complains of being mistreated at home. Her stories don’t seem coherent, especially after meeting her parents. Noémie was recently adopted … How should I be treating this very delicate situation ?”

“Six months ago, a little boy named Luc arrived from abroad: there was very little in his medical file, although his medical condition was quite worrying. Even with treatment and with all the help from his adoptive family, the young boy’s condition is not improving as it should. The advice of a paediatrician specialized in international adoption might be of some help …”

 

You are faced with adopted children and teenagers and their adoptive families. They ask you questions and sometimes you feel uncomfortable and unsure. Remember that adopted children are children first and that all their difficulties are not necessarily linked to their adoption. Nevertheless, adoption may give rise to certain recognizable behaviours that are helpful to take into consideration.

The “Maison de l’Adoption” (Adoption Support Centre) offers a forum for discussion, reflection and training. Our team is available at our location or yours to support you and your children with our knowledge and expertise. We will also gladly put you in contact with a wide range of specialists and experts in the field of adoption, such as teachers, paediatricians, and many more.

2755

Vous êtes professionnel

« J’ai le petit Jérôme dans ma classe et je n’arrive pas à comprendre ses réactions. Il est intelligent, mais il n’écoute pas, il est turbulent et il n’arrive pas à se faire des amis parmi les autres enfants. J’ai beau parler des problèmes avec lui, avec les autres, avec ses parents,rien ne change et finalement tout le monde en souffre. Est-ce que ça a quelque chose à voir avec son adoption ? »

« Ca fait plusieurs fois que l’école de Noémie me contacte pour signaler que la petite se plaint d’être maltraitée à la maison. Ce qu’elle raconte semble peu cohérent, surtout quand on voit les parents. Noémie vient d’être adoptée, comment gérer cette situation délicate ? »

« Le petit Luc est arrivé de l’étranger depuis 6 mois : il n’y avait presque rien dans son dossier médical, mais il présentait un tableau clinique assez dégradé. Malgré les traitements mis en place et les soins de sa famille adoptive, ce petit garçon ne se développe pas bien. L’avis d’un confrère pédiatre spécialisé en adoption internationale me serait peut-être utile. »

 

Vous êtes confronté à des enfants, des jeunes adoptés, des familles adoptives. Ils vous posent des questions et vous vous sentez parfois démuni face à certaines situations. Les enfants adoptés sont d’abord des enfants et toutes leurs difficultés ne doivent pas être interprétées à travers le seul prisme de l’adoption. Toutefois, l’expérience a permis de mettre en évidence certaines spécificités qu’il est très utile de prendre en considération.

La Maison de l’Adoption vous offre un lieu d’échange, de réflexion et de formation continue. Notre équipe est à votre disposition, dans nos locaux ou dans les vôtres, pour vous rencontrer et mettre nos ressources respectives en commun dans l’intérêt des enfants et des familles. Nous pouvons également vous mettre en contact avec un réseau pluridisciplinaire de professionnels (pédagogues, pédiatres, psychomotriciens,…) spécialisés dans les situations adoptives.