2755

Voluntary Service

 

Volunteers’ work

In order to provide different services for people affected by HIV/AIDS, the Aidsberodung mostly relies on volunteers, whose contributions support HIV positive people in their everyday life (going shopping, helping prepare meals, accompanying them to the hospital or the doctor, and so on). Volunteers also take part in the organization of regular activities, aimed at customers or their support group.

Some volunteers focus in particular on end of life care: this specific aspect of voluntary work requires an additional and more specific training along with the basic one necessary for volunteers.

Others, on the other hand, prefer to focus on infection prevention and join asbl Stop Aids Now/Access, which has been working with the Aidsberodung for 20 years.

 

How to become a volunteer?

In order to become a volunteer for the Aidsberodung, you just need to make an appointment with the service. The volunteers responsible will invite you for a first meeting and then to an HIV/AIDS training organised by the service. It is also possible to register for the training and then be involved in the care of HIV–positive people.

 

HIV/AIDS training

Once a year, HIV/AIDS training is organised by the Red Cross’ Aidsberodung. The training is aimed at all people willing to become a volunteer in this particular service, but also at professionals in the psychological, medical, and social sector, as well as at people interested in the field.

The training usually includes 5 sessions of 2 hours each, rather than a whole day of training. These sessions allow volunteers to address different topics related to HIV/AIDS infection such as the virus, the AIDS test, prevention, treatments, how to live with the virus, etc.

2755

Volontariat HIV Berodung

 

Le travail des bénévoles

Pour offrir ses différents services destinés aux personnes vivant avec le VIH/Sida, HIV Berodung s’appuie en grande partie sur les bénévoles dont le travail consiste notamment à apporter une aide dans le cadre des besoins de la vie quotidienne des personnes séropositives (les courses, la cuisine, les visites à l’hôpital ou chez le médecin et autres). En outre, les bénévoles sont impliqués dans l’organisation d’activités régulières ou ponctuelles à l’intention des clients et/ou de leur entourage.

Certains bénévoles s’investissent plus particulièrement dans l’accompagnement des personnes en fin de vie. Cet aspect du bénévolat exige une formation plus spécifique en supplément de la formation de base au bénévolat.

D’autres bénévoles préfèrent s’investir dans la prévention de l’infection et rejoignent alors l’asbl. Stop Aids Now/Acces qui travaille en collaboration avec HIV Berodung depuis plus de 20 ans.

 

Comment devenir bénévole ?

Pour devenir bénévole au sein de HIV Berodung, il suffit de prendre rendez-vous avec le service. Le responsable des bénévoles proposera une première rencontre et, par la suite, la participation à la formation VIH/Sida organisée par le service sera exigée. Il est également possible de s’inscrire à la formation et ensuite de s’investir auprès des personnes séropositives.

 

Formation VIH/Sida

HIV Berodung de la Croix-Rouge organise une fois par an une formation sur le VIH/Sida. Cette formation s’adresse à toute personne souhaitant devenir bénévole au sein du service, mais également aux professionnels du domaine psycho-médico-social ainsi qu’à toute personne intéressée par le sujet.

La formation comprend généralement 5 séances de 2 heures ainsi qu’une journée d’ateliers. Ces séances permettent d’aborder différents thèmes relatifs à l’infection au VIH/Sida tels que : le virus, les tests de dépistage, la prévention, les traitements, vivre avec le virus etc.