2755

Products

 

Academic Research

The SRU supports shelter research in universities and specialized schools. Fields of research include architecture, urban development, industrial design, and other fields related to humanitarian action. The SRU conducts scientific research and encourages students in their fields of interest, helping them receive financing and bringing in expert advice. The SRU shares its research results with the Movement and all other humanitarian organisations that work in shelter design.

Emergency Equipment

The SRU works in cooperation with educational and private sector research and development departments. It goes to great lengths to expand and improve the range of emergency shelters that can be deployed in the zones most affected by a disaster. These products must be appropriate to people’s needs to ensure smooth and rapid transition to sustainable solutions. Due to the sheer diversity of potential catastrophes, the emergency equipment must be precise yet flexible, effective in a maximum number of situations.

 

Improved Shelter

The SRU studies the types of shelters inhabited by victims following a disaster, from the first weeks to possibly years later. Thereafter, the SRU evaluates how effective the efforts of the population itself were and how residents can best be supported to ensure a safe and sustainable future. The SRU’s goal is to improve shelter, ensuring it is appropriate and helpful in specific situations.

 

Shelter Documentation

The SRU’s objective is to play an important role in the creation and sharing of new ideas and know-how, be that in the development and conceptualisation process or in the distribution of emergency shelter. It identifies information useful to professionals engaged in creating shelter for the specific situations of people in need. Furthermore, the SRU actively shares its knowledge with all shelter providers. This effort, known as the “SRU documentation effort” (SRUde), is one of the SRU’s primary activities. The objective is to :

  • Collect and compile information regarding the technical and material aspects of shelter ;
  • Categorize and analyse information gathered ;
  • Share this information with the community of shelter designers and suppliers.

2755

Produits

 

Academic Research

Le SRU soutient le développement de la recherche sur les abris au sein des universités ou écoles spécialisées dans les domaines de l’architecture, du développement urbain, du dessin industriel et des champs relatifs aux divers aspects de l’action humanitaire. Le SRU encourage et conduit les recherches scientifiques des étudiants en identifiant des domaines d’intérêt, en cherchant des financements, en apportant les avis d’experts et en diffusant les résultats obtenus au sein du Mouvement et dans les secteurs de la conception d’abri dans son ensemble.

 

Matériel d’urgence

Le SRU travaille en coopération avec les départements de recherche et développement des centres d’enseignements et du secteur privé afin d’élargir et d’améliorer la gamme des abris d’urgence pouvant être déployés dans les zones sinistrées dès les premières semaines qui suivent la catastrophe. Ces articles doivent répondre aux besoins premiers tout en conduisant à une transition rapide et en douceur vers des solutions durables. Au vu de la diversité des contextes qui entourent chaque catastrophe, ces articles doivent être à la fois précis et flexibles afin d’être une réponse efficace à un maximum de situations.

 

Abris améliorés

Le SRU étudie le genre de constructions dans lesquelles s’abritent les populations sinistrées dans les semaines, les mois voire les années qui suivent la catastrophe. Puis le SRU évalue en quoi ces efforts menés par les populations pour trouver elles-mêmes une solution d’abri durable ont été efficaces et la manière dont ces efforts peuvent être soutenus par les organisations humanitaires. L’ambition du SRU est d’aboutir à un éventail réduit d’abris améliorés destinés à s’adapter à des contextes spécifiques.

 

Documentation sur les abris

Le SRU a pour objectif de jouer un rôle important dans la création et le partage des connaissances dans le domaine de la conception et de la distribution d’abris d’urgence. Il recense ainsi les informations utiles aux professionnels engagés dans la création de réponses aux besoins des populations sans abri. En plus de la documentation, le SRU cherche activement à partager directement avec les professionnels de la fourniture d’abris les informations dont il dispose. Cet effort, également appelé « SRU documentation effort » (SRUde), est une des principales activités du SRU. Les principaux objectifs de l’SRUde sont de :

  • collecter des informations sur les aspects techniques et matérieux des abris ;
  • classer et analyser les informations collectées ;
  • partager ces informations avec la communauté des concepteurs et fournisseurs d’abris.