2755

Financial Governance

The Luxembourg Red Cross’ Board of Directors has endorsed the establishment of a financial governance on May 9, 2008.

General description, objectives, and financial policy

The Luxembourg Red Cross regularly calls on the generosity of the public in order to finance its activities. These range from international support in regions affected by war or natural catastrophes, to the protection of vulnerable people, to the provision of specialised services such as blood transfusion on a national level.

The Red Cross therefore benefits from donations and bequests from private individuals and corporations. Furthermore, in the frame of their multiple activities, it has signed conventions with the state in order to ensure the funding of the services it provides in the different fields. Some of the services provided are free, some are subsidized, and others have a fee.

Numerous volunteers contribute to the financial balance of the organisation, receiving our gratitude in return

Some volunteers are involved in the local sections of the Red Cross (“sections locales de la Croix-Rouge”), and part of their activities include helping us appeal to the generosity of the people. In this way, these volunteers collect a significant part of the donations the Red Cross requires.

In response to the public’s generosity, the Luxembourg Red Cross administers the funds received in the most responsible way and therefore commits itself to providing all information necessary to ensure complete transparency regarding its accounts. The Red Cross makes every effort to ensure optimal use of the funds received, minimizing overhead costs to maximize impact on the ground.

Over time, the Red Cross has accumulated enough wealth to cover a part of the costs and this capital can be considered as a financial cushion. The Luxembourg Red Cross’ wealth is a reserve which must be preserved to face exceptional events such as natural catastrophes or emergency situations resulting from epidemics or man-made disaster.

 

Governance and finances

Responsibilities are clearly distributed in the processing of transactions and asset management. Together with other non-profit and humanitarian organisations, the Luxembourg Red Cross is a signatory of the Code of Good Conduct of the organisations calling on the generosity of the people.

The executive committee is statutorily responsible for business management. It delegates the daily management to a committee of directors. The treasurer, a member of the executive committee, oversees the preparation of financial statements and is responsible for the implementation of the cash management and legacies. The treasurer delegates the operational component to the finance director.

The financial statements of the Luxembourg Red Cross prepared by the finance director are transparent and give true image of the projects of the past year. The accounts are processed in a way which allows an analytical reading of operations.

The executive committee includes a finance committee which proposes general guidelines, manages asset allocations, offers financial guidance, and monitors the implementation of decisions. The finance committee prepares for the executive committee every major decision which needs to be taken, in particular regarding real estate.

 

For more information on the financial management of the Luxembourg Red Cross, download the following document (in French or German) :

Gouvernance financière de la Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise (PDF)

? Haut de page

2755

Gouvernance financière

Le Conseil d’Administration de la Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise a entériné le 9 mai 2008 la mise en place d’une gouvernance financière.

Description générale, objectifs et politique financière

La Croix-Rouge fait régulièrement appel à la générosité du public pour financer son action qui s’étend de l’aide internationale dans des régions touchées par la guerre et les catastrophes naturelles à la protection des personnes vulnérables au niveau national, en passant par des services spécialisés tels que la transfusion sanguine.

La Croix-Rouge bénéficie ainsi de dons et legs venant de personnes privées et de personnes morales. Par ailleurs, dans le cadre de ses multiples activités, elle a signé des conventions avec l’État pour assurer le financement des prestations fournies dans certains domaines. Une partie des services prestés sont payants, d’autres prestations sont offertes à titre gracieux ou sont subventionnées.

De nombreux bénévoles, en offrant leurs prestations, contribuent aussi à l’équilibre financier avec comme seule contrepartie notre gratitude à tous.

Une partie des bénévoles œuvre dans le cadre des « Sections locales de la Croix-Rouge » ; leur action consiste, entre autres, à faire appel à la générosité des habitants ; ils collectent par ce biais une partie significative des dons dont la Croix-Rouge a besoin.

En réponse à la générosité dont elle bénéficie, la Croix-Rouge se doit d’administrer les fonds reçus de la façon la plus responsable qui soit et s’obliger à fournir toutes les informations nécessaires pour assurer une transparence totale sur ses comptes. La Croix-Rouge s’oblige à tout mettre en œuvre pour garantir une utilisation optimale des fonds reçus en minimisant les frais de structure ; les retombées sur le terrain s’en trouvent ainsi maximisées.

Au fil du temps, la Croix-Rouge a accumulé un patrimoine dont le produit permet de couvrir une partie des frais et dont le capital doit être considéré comme un coussin de sécurité. Le patrimoine de la Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise est une réserve qui doit être préservée pour faire face à des évènements exceptionnels tels des catastrophes naturelles, des situations de crise résultant par exemple d’épidémies ou des catastrophes d’origine humaine.

 

Gouvernance et Finances

Les responsabilités sont clairement réparties dans la chaine de traitement des transactions et la gestion des actifs. Ensemble avec d’autres ONG et organisations humanitaires, la Croix-Rouge est signataire du Code de bonne conduite des organismes faisant appel à la générosité du public.

Le Comité Exécutif est statutairement responsable de la gestion des affaires courantes. Il délègue la gestion des affaires courantes à un Comité de Direction. Le Trésorier qui est un membre du Comité Exécutif veille à l’établissement des états financiers et est chargé de la mise en œuvre de la gestion de la trésorerie et du patrimoine. Le Trésorier délègue le volet opérationnel à la Direction des Finances.

Les états financiers de la Croix-Rouge préparés par la Direction des Finances sont transparents et donnent une image fidèle du patrimoine et des opérations sur l’année écoulée. Les comptes sont préparés de manière à permettre une lecture analytique des opérations.

Le Comité Exécutif constitue un Comité des Finances qui lui propose les orientations générales, les allocations d’actifs, les orientations en matière financière et surveille la mise en œuvre des décisions prises. Le Comité des Finances prépare pour le Comité Exécutif toutes les grandes décisions qui sont à prendre notamment dans le domaine de l’immobilier.

 

Pour plus d’information sur la gestion financière de la Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise, téléchargez le document ci-dessous :

Gouvernance financière de la Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise (PDF)

↑ Haut de page