2755

The Seven Principles

 

Humanity

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement was born from a desire to bring assistance to the wounded on the battlefield without discrimination. In its international and national capacities, it endeavours to prevent and alleviate human suffering wherever it may be found. Its purpose is to protect life and health and to ensure respect for the human being. It promotes mutual understanding, friendship, cooperation, and lasting peace amongst all peoples.

Impartiality

It makes no distinction of nationality, race, religious beliefs, class, or political opinions. It endeavours to relieve the suffering of individuals, and to give priority to the most urgent cases of distress. 

Neutrality

In order to retain the confidence of all, the Movement does not take sides in hostilities or engage at any time in controversies of a political, racial, religious, or ideological nature. 

Independence

The Movement is independent. The national societies, while auxiliaries in the humanitarian services of their governments and subject to the laws of their respective countries, must always maintain their autonomy so that they may be able to act in accordance with the principles of the movement at all times. 

Voluntary service

Each time a gesture relieves suffering, it is a triumph of humanity over poverty, disease, human violence, or natural forces. When this act is accomplished in the framework of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement in all areas, it is a step toward universal solidarity. 

Unity

There can only be one Movement in each country. It must be open to all, and the humanitarian actions must cover the whole territory. 

Universality

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, in which all Societies have equal status and share equal responsibilities and duties in helping each other, is worldwide.

 

 

More information on the 7 principles of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement.

 

↑ Top of the page

2755

Les 7 principes

 

Humanité

Né du souci de porter secours sans discrimination aux blessés des champs de bataille, le Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, sous son aspect national et international, s’efforce de prévenir et d’alléger en toutes circonstances les souffrances des hommes. Il tend à protéger la vie et la santé ainsi qu’à faire respecter la personne humaine. Il favorise la compréhension mutuelle, l’amitié, la coopération et une paix durable entre tous les peuples.

Impartialité

Il ne fait aucune distinction de nationalité, de race, de religion, de condition sociale et d’appartenance politique. Il s’applique seulement à secourir les individus à la mesure de leur souffrance et à subvenir par priorité aux détresses les plus urgentes.

 

Neutralité

Afin de garder la confiance de tous, le Mouvement s’abstient de prendre part aux hostilités et, en tout temps, aux controverses d’ordre politique, racial, religieux et idéologique.

 

Indépendance

Le Mouvement est indépendant. Auxiliaires des pouvoirs publics dans leurs activités humanitaires et soumises aux lois qui régissent leur pays respectif, les Sociétés nationales doivent pourtant conserver une autonomie qui leur permette toujours d’agir selon les principes du Mouvement.

 

Volontariat

Chaque fois qu’un geste gratuit soulage une souffrance, c’est le triomphe de l’humanité sur la pauvreté, la maladie, la violence de l’homme ou des forces de la nature. Lorsque cet acte s’accomplit dans le cadre du Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge sous toutes les latitudes, c’est un maillon d’une solidarité universelle.

 

Unité

Il ne peut y avoir qu’une seule Société de la Croix-Rouge ou du Croissant-Rouge dans un même pays. Elle doit être ouverte à tous et étendre son action humanitaire au territoire entier.

 

Universalité

Le Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, au sein duquel toutes les Sociétés ont des droits égaux et le devoir de s’entraider, est universel.

 

 

Retrouvez les 7 principes fondamentaux du Comité International de la Croix-Rouge sur le site du CICR.

 

 

↑ Haut de page