2755

How do the Croix-Rouge Butteks (Social Groceries) work?

 

In order to prevent misuse, social services objectively analyse whether a person is eligible to shop at a Croix-Rouge Buttek. Only those in true need can become customers, and once they have been authorised they receive a personalised access card.

In order to meet the demand of disadvantaged people, a number of groceries have been established all over the country.

These shops are open 5 days a week and offer a vast array of food and household products :

  • Staple foods
  • Fresh produce
  • Care products
  • Cleaning products

In order to respect the dignity of our customers and appeal to their sense of responsibility, financial participation (about one third of the market-price) is required from them.

 

The products

img_epicerie_sociale_panier_364pxSeveral suppliers provide their products for free or at a very low price to our central warehouse, Spëndchen a.s.b.l., who then organises their distribution to the different groceries.

In many cases, the companies involved avoid wasting food from overproduction, incorrect deliveries, or business closures. Customers of the Croix-Rouge Buttek therefore enjoy fresh, high-quality goods.

The social groceries are a joint project of Caritas Luxembourg and the Luxembourg Red Cross, in cooperation with the Ministry of Family Affairs. This initiative is a continuation of national efforts as it complements and builds upon existing food and material provisions in Luxembourg.

2755

Fonctionnement des Croix-Rouge Buttek

 

Afin d’éviter les abus, seules les personnes dont le besoin a été constaté objectivement par les services sociaux agréés sont autorisées à faire leurs achats au « Croix-Rouge Buttek », moyennant une carte d’accès personnalisée.

Afin de pouvoir répondre à une demande de proximité émise par les personnes défavorisées, plusieurs points de vente ont été créés à travers le pays.

Ces centres sont ouverts 5 jours par semaine et proposent une offre diversifiée en produits alimentaires et ménagers :

  • aliments de base ;
  • produits frais ;
  • articles d’hygiène ;
  • produits d’entretien.

Dans une logique de respect de la dignité et de responsabilisation des personnes, une participation financière (de l’ordre d’un tiers du prix du produit sur le marché) est demandée aux bénéficiaires.

 

Les produits

img_epicerie_sociale_panier_364pxDifférents fournisseurs proposent leurs marchandises gratuitement ou à un prix très bas à la centrale d’approvisionnement, Spëndchen a.s.b.l., qui organise la distribution aux épiceries.

Dans bien des cas, les entreprises concernées évitent ainsi la destruction des surproductions ou des marchandises issues d’erreurs de livraison et de liquidations de commerce. Les clients des Croix-Rouge Buttek bénéficient donc de produits frais et de qualité.

Les épiceries sociales sont un projet commun entre Caritas Luxembourg et la Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise, en collaboration avec le Ministère de la Famille et de l’Intégration. Cette initiative se situe dans la continuité du travail social national puisqu’elle vient compléter et s’appuie sur l’offre existante en aide alimentaire et matérielle au Luxembourg.