2755

Presentation of the Shelter Research Unit

The number of natural disasters has doubled over the past two decades, destroying and affecting over 200 million people. This, combined with wars and other conflict-related emergencies, has left over 100 million people homeless and roughly 1.6 billion individuals living in temporary, non-sanitary shelters.

 

YouTube Preview ImageThese staggering figures, combined with geographic, economic, and cultural differences regarding homeless people, are a huge challenge for those who design shelters. Designing a shelter is not just providing an emergency solution but involves rebuilding lives, helping individuals and families move on and settle into stable communities.

 

The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies is the world’s largest supplier of emergency shelters. Although this mission started in the 19th century, as far as the shipment of the shelters is concerned, the Federation’s first major operation took place in 1949 during the Palestinian refugee crisis.

 

In 2009, the Benelux Red Crosses (Luxembourg Red Cross, Belgian Red Cross – Flanders, Belgian Red Cross — Francophone community, and the Netherlands Red Cross) decided to set up a Shelter Research Unit (SRU) in order to support the Federation in its role of shelter provider in times of natural disasters. The SRU provides technical support to the Movement and to any other organisations providing shelter to those affected by disasters.

For more information : www.ifrc.org/shelter.

 

Download below the “Shelter Research Unit” flyer :

Flyer Shelter Research Unit (EN)

 

Support

The SRU’s actions are made possible through the financing and support from a large number of organisations who share its interests and concerns regarding emergency shelters.

From its start in 2010, the SRU’s work has been accomplished thanks to financing by ECHO (European Community for Humanitarian Aid and Protection). The ECHO grant has enabled the SRU to increase its collaboration with Benelux universities for research purposes.

The SRU is very grateful to the Veuve Emile Metz-Tesch, Luxembourg foundation for its relentless support, especially the recent Shelter Curriculum.

The SRU is supported by the Fonds de Développement et de Coopération du Gouvernement Luxembourgeois, which enables the continuity of its work.

The SRU is equally grateful to Progecad for the design of its cutting-edge software.

 

The European Community for Humanitarian Aid and Protection provides financial aid to victims of natural disasters and conflicts outside the European Union. The help is allocated impartially, directly to the people in need regardless of race, ethnicity, religion, gender, age, nationality, or political opinion.

 

 

 

 

 

Photo: Lynsey Addario/VII Photo

Dagahaley camp in Dadaab after fleeing a prolonged drought in Somalia, August 20, 2011.

 


 

 ↑ Top of page

2755

Gründung der „Shelter Research Unit”

In den letzten beiden Jahrzehnten hat sich die Zahl der Naturkatastrophen verdoppelt, die das Leben von mehr als 200 Millionen Menschen erschütterten und vielen ihre Lebensgrundlage nahmen. Nimmt man Kriege und andere konfliktbedingte Notstände hinzu, dann sind 100 Millionen Menschen weltweit obdachlos und ungefähr 1,6 Milliarden leben in Slums oder ungeeigneten Unterkünften.

 

YouTube Preview ImageDie gewaltige Größe dieser Zahlen, verbunden mit den geographischen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Unterschieden der betroffenen Menschen, stellen all die, die im Bereich von Notunterkünften tätigen sind, vor eine große Herausforderung. Es geht nicht nur darum, den Notleidenden ein Dach über dem Kopf zu geben. Es geht auch darum, den Menschen wieder eine Lebensgrundlage zu schaffen, Einzelpersonen und Familien dabei zu helfen, wieder ein normales Leben aufzunehmen und Gemeinschaften zu schaffen, die zukünftigen Katastrophen Stand halten können.

 

Die Rotkreuz- und Rothalbmond-Bewegung stellt weltweit vermutlich die meisten Notunterkünfte bereit. Obwohl die Internationale Föderation der Rotkreuz- und Rothalbmond-Gesellschaften bereits seit dem 19. Jahrhundert im Bereich der Notunterkünfte tätig ist, fanden die ersten großen Einsätze, die von der Föderation geleitet wurden, erst 1949 während der palästinensischen Flüchtlingskrise statt.

 

Im Jahr 2009 beschlossen die Rotkreuz-Gesellschaften des Beneluxraums (Luxemburger Rotes Kreuz, Belgisches Rotes Kreuz – flämische und frankophone Gemeinschaft – und das Niederländische Rote Kreuz) die „Shelter Research Unit” (SRU) zu gründen, um die Internationale Föderation bei ihrer Aufgabe als Koordinator des UN-Clusters für die Bereitstellung von Notunterkünfte nach Naturkatastrophen zu unterstützen. Die SRU leistet jedoch nicht nur der Rotkreuz-und Rothalbmond-Bewegung technische Unterstützung, sondern auch allen anderen Organisationen, die Katstrophenopfern Notunterkünfte bereitstellen.

Mehr informationen unter www.ifrc.org/shelter.

 

Laden Sie hier den Flyer „Shelter Research Unit“ runter:

Flyer Shelter Research Unit (EN)

 

 

Unterstützung

Die Tätigkeiten der SRU werden durch die Unterstützung einer Vielzahl von Organisationen ermöglicht, die unser Interesse an Notunterkünften teilen.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2010 wird ihre Arbeit durch die Finanzierung vom Amt der europäischen Gemeinschaft für humanitäre Hilfe (ECHO) ermöglicht. Der Zuschuss von ECHO hat uns geholfen unsere Forschungsambitionen in Zusammenarbeit mit Universitäten der Beneluxstaaten voranzutreiben.

Außerdem danken wir der Stiftung Emile Metz-Tesch Luxembourg für ihre vorbehaltslose Unterstützung im Bereich der Wissensvermittlung, besonders in einem noch so jungen Forschungsbereich.

Die SRU hat auch die Unterstützung des Entwicklungs- und Kooperationsfonds des Luxemburger Staates, der über das Außenministerium zugänglich ist, wodurch wir Kontinuität in unsere Arbeit bringen konnten.

Die SRU bedankt sich ebenfalls bei Progecad, das die SRU mit neuster Zeichensoftware ausgestatten hat.

 

Die Dienststelle für humanitäre Hilfe der Europäischen Kommission finanziert Noteinsätze für Opfer von Naturkatastrophen und Konflikte außerhalb der Europäischen Union. Die Hilfe erfolgt unabhängig von ethnischer Zugehörigkeit, Religion, Geschlecht, Alter, Nationalität oder politischer Einstellung.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Foto: Lynsey Addario/VII Photo

Dagahaley camp in Dadaab after fleeing a prolonged drought in Somalia, August 20, 2011.