2755

Presentation of the Croix-Rouge Buttek (Social Groceries)

 

Although known to be a wealthy country, some residents in Luxembourg are affected by poverty. In 2008, more than 65,000 people were living below the poverty line . In the current context of the economic crisis, the number of households living in precarious situations is constantly increasing.

img_epicerie_sociale_1_710px

 

This is why the Croix-Rouge Butteks were founded.

These social groceries provide food and everyday products for people facing financial difficulties. In return, a financial contribution (about one third of the market-price) is required from our customers. Thanks to these grocery stores, the beneficiaries can increase their purchasing power while still having access to fresh and quality products. 

Cooking lessons are also offered with fresh produce from the groceries, lead by professional nutritionists and chefs.

The Spënnchen a.s.b.l., our supply centre, was founded in partnership with other associations (Caritas, Aarbechtshëllef, Jongenheem, etc.) for the efficient operation of the groceries and the management of products.

The general objectives of the social groceries are :

  • To fight poverty
  • To strengthen solidarity and social ties
  • A balanced diet
  • To fight food waste.

For more information please visit :

Or download the flyer “Croix-Rouge Buttek” :

Dépliant Epiceries Sociales (FR/DE) (PDF)

 

 

This project is supported by the Pax Christi Foundation sheltered under the aegis of the Fondation de Luxembourg.

2755

Präsentation der Sozial-Läden

 

Obwohl Luxemburg für seinen Reichtum bekannt ist, sind auch im Großherzogtum Menschen von Armut betroffen. Im Jahr 2008 waren 65 000 Menschen armutsgefährdet. Die unmittelbaren Umstände der Finanzkrise drohen die Zahl der betroffenen Haushalte noch zu erhöhen.

img_epicerie_sociale_1_710px

 

Angesichts dieser Tatsachen wurden die Sozial-Läden „Croix-Rouge Buttek“ gegründet.

Die Sozial-Läden bieten von Armut betroffenen Menschen Lebensmittel und Produkte des täglichen Gebrauchs gegen eine finanzielle Beteiligung von etwa einem Drittel des Marktpreises. Dank der Sozial-Läden können die Empfänger mehr sowie frische und qualitativ hochwertige Ware kaufen.

Es werden ebenfalls Kochkurse mit frischen Produkten der Sozial-Läden angeboten, dies in Zusammenarbeit mit Fachleuten, Ernährungswissenschaftlern und Köchen.

Die „Spëndchen a.s.b.l.“, die Belieferungszentrale für das Netzwerk der „Buttek“ im ganzen Land, wurde in Partnerschaft mit anderen Organisationen (Caritas, Aarbechtshëllef, Jongenheem…) gegründet, um so die Funktionsweise der Sozial-Läden in der Produktverwaltung effizienter zu gestalten.

 

Die allgemeinen Zielsetzungen der Sozial-Läden sind:

  • Kampf gegen die Armut bedürftiger Menschen
  • Stärkung von Solidarität und sozialer Zusammengehörigkeit
  • Ausgewogene Ernährung
  • Maßnahmen gegen die Verschwendung von Lebensmitteln

 

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie beim Besuch der Internetseite:

 

Außerdem können Sie die „Croix-Rouge Buttek“-Broschüre herunterladen:

Brochüre Sozial-Laden (FR/DE) (PDF)