2755

Rescue Dogs Overview

Founded on 27th April 1996 following the decision of the Luxembourg Red Cross (CRL) Executive Committee, the Rescue Dogs service is an integral part of the emergency services the Red Cross offers. It is a valuable tool in the search for missing persons in Luxembourg as well as abroad.

This section works within the context of two CRL departments: Health and Humanitarian Aid. The search for missing persons in Luxembourg and neighbouring countries is the responsibility of the Health department which maintains a permanent and strong collaboration with CRL’s ambulance service. The Humanitarian Aid department is responsible for activities concerning interventions following natural disasters both nationally and internationally.

 

Thanks to its phenomenal “working tool,” highly specialised rescue dogs, the Rescue Dogs service intervenes in the search for missing persons as well as locating survivors buried under debris of any kind.

 

At a national level, the Rescue Dogs service collaborates closely with the Emergency Services Administration, the Police Grand-Ducale and fire departments, and the Luxembourg Air Rescue.

 

At an international level and in close collaboration with the German Red Cross as well as other emergency services, such as those of the Paris Fire Department’s canine team, the Rescue Dogs service has completed and continues to participate in numerous training programs. They took an active part in discussions which lead to the creation of the DIN 13050 norm concerning the emergency teams in Germany.

 

Highly specialised, trained, and ready to be confronted with the most extraordinary situations, the Luxembourg Red Cross’s canine teams have been tested in many interventions on the ground in Luxembourg and Germany as well as after the earthquakes in Algeria and Iran in 2003, in Morocco in 2004, and in Haiti in 2010.

 

Within the context of international interventions, the Rescue Dogs service has signed an agreement with Luxembourg Air Rescue. Their Lear jets ensure fast transportation for the canine teams to regions of crises within  5000 kilometers from Luxembourg.

2755

Präsentation der Rettungshundestaffel

Die Rettungshundestaffel wurde am 27. April 1996 durch Beschluss des Exekutivkomitees des Luxemburger Roten Kreuzes gegründet. Bei der Suche nach Vermissten ist sie auf nationaler Ebene sowie bei Auslandseinsätzen ein wichtiges Hilfsmittel.

Sie agiert innerhalb zweier „Familien“ des Roten Kreuzes, und zwar der Familie „Gesundheit“ während Flächensuchen nach Vermissten sowohl im Land wie auch im nahen Ausland (in dem Bereich unterhält sie auch engsten Kontakt mit dem LRK-Sanitätsdienst) , und innerhalb der Familie „Humanitäres“ was die Einsätze bei Naturkatastrophen wie Erdbeben sowohl national wie international anbelangt.

 

Dank ihres phänomenalen « Arbeitgerätes » welches der hoch spezialisiert Rettungshund darstellt, kommt die Rettungshundestaffel sowohl bei der Suche nach vermissten Personen (Flächensuche) wie auch bei der Lokalisation von lebenden Verschütteten unter Trümmern bei Naturkatastrophen oder Explosionen (Trümmersuche) zum Einsatz.

 

Auf nationaler Ebene arbeitet die LRK-Rettungshundestaffel engstens mit der Verwaltung für Rettungsdienste, der grossherzoglichen Polizei, der Feuerwehren, sowohl den hauptberuflichen wie ehrenamtlichen und der Luxembourg Air Rescue (LAR) zusammen.

 

International wird grossen Wert auf die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Roten Kreuz und mit der Hundestaffel der Pariser Berufsfeuerwehr gelegt, Zusammenarbeiten die es der Staffel erlauben ausbildungstechnisch immer auf dem letzten Stand zu sein. In dem Sinne hat die Staffel auch an der Ausarbeitung der Rettungshundeteam-Norm DIN 13050 der deutschen Rettungsorganisationen aktiv teilgenommen.

 

Gut ausgebildet, hoch spezialisiert und immer abrufbereit sich den verschiedensten Begebenheiten zu stellen. Getreu diesem Leitmotiv hat die LRK-Rettungshundestaffel ihr Können bei vielen Flächeneinsätzen in Luxemburg und im nahen Ausland und bei den Erdbebeneinsätzen 2003 in Algerien und im Iran, 2004 in Marokko und 2010 auf Haïti unter Beweis gestellt.

 

Im Rahmen der internationalen Einsätze hat das LRK ein Kooperationsvertrag mit der Luxembourg Air Rescue (LAR), der es der Staffel erlaubt schnellsten mit den LAR eigenen Lear-Jets in die Krisengebiete innerhalb eines Radiuses von +/- 5000 Kilometern geflogen zu werden und so wertvolle Zeit Verschütteten und Verletzte zu gewinnen, unterzeichnet.