2755

Mission

Over the past years, the Luxembourg Red Cross has developed numerous humanitarian aid activities and adopted new, efficient means of action. This enables the Luxembourg Red Cross to be active in two main areas: development and humanitarian emergencies.


Development

The Luxembourg Red Cross is involved in medium- to long-term programmes which support development and reconstruction in underprivileged countries.

This action involves :

  • The improvement of health systems focusing on preventative medicine
  • Raising awareness of and preparing populations for natural disasters (epidemics, floods, etc.)

 

Humanitarian emergencies

The Luxembourg Red Cross intervenes in emergencies following natural or humanitarian disasters by

  • Sending a volunteer rescue team with their rescue dogs to locate survivors under rubble according to the type and location of the catastrophe
  • Buying equipment and sending necessary items to the disaster location
  • Deploying the Benelux Emergency Response Unit to ensure the distribution of first aid materials to the affected populations
  • Introducing rehabilitation projects according to each situation

The Luxembourg Red Cross can also act upon requests from the Luxembourgish government or the International Red Cross Federation when humanitarian aid is needed (e.g. sending the Emergency Rescue Unit, participating in searches with the rescue dogs, building shelters, etc.)

The Luxembourg Red Cross allows citizens who wish to lend their support to relief efforts get involved through ongoing or intermittent volunteering and through monetary donations. With the goal of establishing a trusting relationship with donors, the Luxembourg Red Cross is committed to following the code of conduct for organisations calling on the generosity of the public. Under this code, it is their moral obligation to provide donors with regular updates.

↑ Top of page

2755

Die Aufgaben

Seit einigen Jahren baut das Luxemburger Rote Kreuz seine humanitären Tätigkeiten aus und hat sich neue Handlungsinstrumente gegeben. So ist es heute in zwei Bereichen tätig: der Entwicklungshilfe und der Nothilfe.

Entwicklungshilfe

Das Rote Kreuz unterstützt in armen Ländern mittel- und langfristige Entwicklungsprogramme und Projekte im Bereich des Wiederaufbaus, wie

  • die Verbesserung von Gesundheitssystemen im Bereich der Behandlung und Prävention
  • die Prävention, Sensibilisierung und Ausrüstung der Bevölkerung in Hinblick auf Naturkatastrophen (Tierseuchen, Überschwemmungen usw.)

 

Nothilfe

Das Rote Kreuz kommt bei Notsituation nach Natur- oder anderen Katastrophen zum Einsatz, wie z.B.

  • durch den Einsatz der ehrenamtlichen Rettungshundestaffel zur Lokalisierung von Verschütteten bei Katastrophen in verschiedenen Ländern
  • durch den Kauf und den Transport von Hilfsgütern in die Katastrophenregion
  • durch den Einsatz der Nothilfeeinheit „ERU Relief Benelux”, um die Verteilung von Hilfsgütern sicherzustellen
  • durch die Durchführung von Projekten im Bereich des Wiederaufbaus

Das Luxemburger Rote Kreuz kann auch auf Anfrage des Luxemburger Staates oder der Internationalen Föderation der Rotkreuz- und Rothalbmondgesellschaften zum Einsatz kommen, wenn Bedarf an humanitärer Hilfe besteht (Mobilisierung der Nothilfeeinheit ERU zur Verteilung von Hilfsgütern, Suche von Vermissten und Verschütteten durch die Rettungshundestaffel, Bereitstellung von Notunterkünften usw.).

Das Luxemburger Rote Kreuz ermöglicht es der Bevölkerung, sich regelmäßig (durch ehrenamtliche Hilfe) oder sporadisch (durch Spenden, Finanzierung eines Hauses in Burundi) an den laufenden humanitären Programmen zu beteiligen.

Um ein Vertrauensverhältnis zu seinen Spendern aufzubauen, hat das Luxemburger Rote Kreuz den Verhaltenskodex für Organisationen unterzeichnet, die an die Spendenbereitschaft der Bevölkerung appellieren. Es versichert somit ein Höchstmaß an Transparenz und kommt seiner moralischen Verpflichtung nach, seine Spender regelmäßig über seine Programme zu informieren.

↑ Top