2755

How do the Croix-Rouge Butteks (Social Groceries) work?

 

In order to prevent misuse, social services objectively analyse whether a person is eligible to shop at a Croix-Rouge Buttek. Only those in true need can become customers, and once they have been authorised they receive a personalised access card.

In order to meet the demand of disadvantaged people, a number of groceries have been established all over the country.

These shops are open 5 days a week and offer a vast array of food and household products :

  • Staple foods
  • Fresh produce
  • Care products
  • Cleaning products

In order to respect the dignity of our customers and appeal to their sense of responsibility, financial participation (about one third of the market-price) is required from them.

 

The products

img_epicerie_sociale_panier_364pxSeveral suppliers provide their products for free or at a very low price to our central warehouse, Spëndchen a.s.b.l., who then organises their distribution to the different groceries.

In many cases, the companies involved avoid wasting food from overproduction, incorrect deliveries, or business closures. Customers of the Croix-Rouge Buttek therefore enjoy fresh, high-quality goods.

The social groceries are a joint project of Caritas Luxembourg and the Luxembourg Red Cross, in cooperation with the Ministry of Family Affairs. This initiative is a continuation of national efforts as it complements and builds upon existing food and material provisions in Luxembourg.

2755

Funktionsweise der Sozial-Läden

Um Missbrauch vorzubeugen sind nur Personen, die von zugelassenen sozialen Dienststellen objektiv als bedürftig eingestuft wurden, zum Einkauf im Sozial-Laden mit ihrer persönlichen Zulgangskarte berechtigt.

Um der Nachfrage bedürftiger benachteiligter Personen nach einem Laden in ihrem Umkreis nachzukommen, wurden landesweit mehrere Verkaufsstellen eröffnet.

Diese Läden sind 5 Tage die Woche geöffnet und bieten eine Vielfalt an Ess- und Haushaltswaren:

  • Grundnahrungsmittel
  • Frische Produkte
  • Pflegeprodukte
  • Putzmittel

Um die Würde der Empfänger zu respektieren und an ihr Verantwortungsbewusstsein zu appellieren, wird eine finanzielle Beteiligung (ein Drittel des Marktpreises) von Seiten der Empfänger verlangt.

 

Die Ware

img_epicerie_sociale_panier_364pxVerschiedene Lieferanten geben Produkte kostenlos oder zu einem sehr geringen Preis an die Warenzentrale Spëndchen asbl ab, die sie dann an die Sozial-Läden verteilen.

Oft vermeiden die betroffenen Unternehmen auf diese Weise die Vernichtung der Ware bei Warenüberschüssen. Fehllieferungen oder Geschäftsschließungen. Die Kunden der Sozial-Läden profitieren somit von frischer und hochwertiger Ware.

Die Sozial-Läden sind ein gemeinsames Projekt von Caritas Luxemburg und dem Luxemburger Roten Kreuz, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ministerium für Familie und Integration durchgeführt wird. Die Initiative schließt direkt an das Gesamtkonzept der nationalen Sozialarbeit an, da sie auf das bestehende Angebot im Bereich der Nahrungsmittelhilfe und materiellen Unterstützung aufbaut und dieses sinnvoll vervollständigt.