2755

dropIn – Service for sex workers

 

The dropIn is a free service for sex workers which offers medical care and social, psychological, and material support to every sex-worker in need. The service also fights against social exclusion of sex workers and organises prevention campaigns on sexually transmitted diseases.

This department is open to every female and male sex worker, transvestite or transsexual, professional or occasional, without distinction as to nationality, status (legal or illegal), or age.

As a safe, neutral, and anonymous space, the service respects people without morally judging their life choices. Listening to the visitors is at the center of the team’s work, followed by taking care of the beneficiaries. Feeling solidarity with sex-workers, dropIn works towards bettering their life conditions and defending their interests.

The dropIn’s major objectives are :

  • Defending sex workers’ interests ;
  • Attending to their needs ;
  • Fighting for a better quality of life ;
  • Showing solidarity ;
  • Denouncing any form of discrimination ;
  • Being accessible and ready to listen ;
  • Preventing health problems (vaccines, etc.).

 

History

In 1995, a vaccination program against hepatitis was organised. The demand was too great and the needs too varied. The creation of a service exclusively aimed at sex workers without any discrimination based on age, nationality, or gender became essential.

Therefore, the voluntary workers of the Red Cross Aidsberodung and Stop Aids Now asbl became active in the area of the central station in Luxembourg City to raise sex workers’ awareness of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection and other sexually transmitted diseases and infections (STDs and STIs).

The dropIn service opened its doors on 28th October 1998. Today, more and more sex workers benefit from our social and medical services and from the team’s human presence.

 

For further information on issues regarding prostitution :

2755

dropIn – Anlaufstelle für Prostituierte

DropIn ist eine Anlaufstelle für Prostituierte, die medizinische, soziale, psychologische und materielle Unterstützung anbietet. Die Anlaufstelle setzt sich ebenfalls gegen die soziale Ausgrenzung der Prostituierten ein und organisiert Kampagnen zur Vorbeugung von sexuell übertragbaren Krankheiten sowie Impfprogramme.

 

Die Anlaufstelle ist offen für alle haupt- oder nebenberuflichen Prostituierte (Frauen und Männer), Transvestiten oder Transsexuelle, ungeachtet ihrer Nationalität, ihres Status (legal oder illegal) oder Alters.

Die Anlaufstelle ist sicher, neutral und anonym und respektiert die Wahl des Lebenswegs der Personen ohne moralische Beurteilung. Ein offenes Ohr für die Betroffenen zu haben liegt dem Team am Herzen, weshalb jeder Betroffene persönliche Betreuung erfährt. DropIn arbeitet an der Verbesserung ihrer Lebensumstände und der Verteidigung ihrer Interessen.

Die wesentlichen Zielsetzungen von dropIn sind:

  • die Interessen der Prostituierten zu verteidigen
  • auf ihre Bedürfnisse einzugehen
  • sich für eine bessere Lebensqualität einzusetzen
  • sich solidarisch zu zeigen
  • auf jegliche Art von Diskriminierung aufmerksam zu machen
  • verfügbar und aufmerksam zu sein
  • gesundheitlichen Problemen vorzubeugen (Impfungen)

 

Entstehung

Im Jahr 1995 wurde ein Impfprogramm gegen Hepatitis durchgeführt. Die Nachfrage war zu groß und die Bedürfnisse zu verschieden. Die Schaffung einer Anlaufstelle ausschließlich für Prostituierte, ungeachtet ihres Alters, ihrer Nationalität oder ihres Geschlechts, wurde unumgänglich.

Daraufhin wurden freiwillige Mitarbeiter der Aidsberodung des Roten Kreuzes und der Stop Aids Now asbl im Bahnhofsviertel von Luxemburg-Stadt aktiv, um Prostituierte über Infektionen mit dem Humane Immundefizienz-Virus (HIV) und anderen sexuell übertragbaren Krankheiten (STD und STI) zu informieren.

Am 22. Oktober 1998 öffnete die Anlaufstelle dropIn ihre Türen. Heute nutzen immer mehr Prostituierte die sozialen und medizinischen Dienstleistungen sowie die Präsenz des Teams.

 

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter folgenden Internetseiten: