2755

Local Luxembourg Red Cross – Differdange Youth Section

The young members of the Luxembourg Red Cross’ Youth Section in Differdange are very active and regularly organise events and projects to raise awareness for the Red Cross and its principles.

 

Objectives

  • To offer educational activities to young individuals to allow them to develop their individual personalities and to encourage social awareness;
  • To regroup individuals of all nationalities and backgrounds around an engaging voluntary work experience in the community of Differdange and its surroundings;
  • To motivate and help young individuals organize social and humanitarian projects;
  • To foster a close partnership with Red Cross Youth activities;
  • To encourage exchange and collaborations with other youth organisations in the community.

 

Activities

All young individuals from the age of 9 and up are welcome to join the group. Every week the group meets on Saturday from 9am-5pm. The four Saturdays in a month are divided in the following manner: two “discovery days” (Wëssensdaag), one “project planning day” (Virbereedungsdaag), and one “project day” (Projektdaag). 

Discovery Days

The youth members propose days with different topics according to their interests. The chosen topics are then researched in smaller groups. After finishing planning and preparing the projects/topics, the individual groups present their findings to the other members. Older volunteers, who lead the discussions among the younger members, propose and present current topics that focus on social and humanitarian matters. Other discussed topics include precautionary measures for risk prevention (regarding lifestyle, alcohol, drugs, etc.) 

Project Planning Days

These days are dedicated to thinking and reflecting about the projects the group has committed to and wishes to develop. These projects serve to finance some of the Section’s activities; however, they also encourage other young peers to join this social effort and volunteer.

Examples of projects:

  • Organising a rally
  • Holding an information stand during events
  • Doing activities with the elderly
  • Participating in Red Cross events
  • Making amateur films
  • Participating in international youth projects

 

 

Project Days

These days are dedicated to the final preparations for the projects and the organisation of the necessary materials, flyers, and items needed for the different occasions. 

Meritorious individuals

Every year, recreational activities and sports or cultural visits are organised for the most dedicated young members. The merit is based on days present and the personal investment in and contributions toward the section’s work in local activities. Examples of such activities and visits include: a weekend skiing, a weekend discovery of canoeing and kayaking, Halloween night, a day of carting, a visit to the zoo or to an amusement park, etc.

2755

Jugendrotkreuz Luxemburg – Gemeinde Differdange

Die Mitglieder des Jugendrotkreuz Luxemburg in Differdange sind sehr engagiert bei der Organisation von Veranstaltungen und Projekten zur Bekanntmachung des Roten Kreuzes und dessen Grundlagen unter der Jugend.

 

Ziele

  • Jungen Menschen Bildungsmaßnahmen zur Entwicklung eigener Persönlichkeiten zu bieten und dabei ihr soziales Verständnis zu fördern;
  • Menschen unterschiedlicher Nationalitäten für ehrenamtliche Einsätze im Zuge von Gemeinschaftsaktivitäten in Differdange und Umgebung zusammenzubringen;
  • Junge Menschen zur Organisation sozialer und humanitärer Projekte anzuregen und bei der Umsetzung dieser zu unterstützen;
  • Eine verstärkte Zusammenarbeit zu fördern und Projekte des Jugendrotkreuzes zu unterstützen;
  • Den Austausch mit anderen Jugendorganisationen der Gemeinde zu fördern.

 

Aktivitäten

Die Gruppe steht allen jungen Menschen ab 9 Jahren offen. Treffen finden jeden Samstag von 9 bis 17 Uhr statt. Die 4 Tage pro Monat sind wie folg unterteilt: zwei „Entdeckungstage“ (Wëssensdaag), ein „Projektplanungstag“ (Virbereedungsdaag) und ein „Projekttag“ (Projektdaag).

 

Entdeckungstage

Die Kinder und Jugendlichen schlagen entsprechend ihrer Interessen unterschiedliche Tagesthemen vor. Die ausgewählten Themen werden in kleinen Arbeitsgruppen daraufhin weiter vertieft. Nach Beendigung der Projektplanung stellt die Arbeitsgruppe das Projekt oder behandelte Themen dann anderen Mitgliedern vor. Die ehrenamtlichen Helfer behandeln aktuelle Themen aus dem sozialen und humanitären Bereich, aber besprechen auch Vorsorgemaßnahmen zur Risikoprävention wie z.B. Hygiene, Alkoholismus, Drogenmißbrauch, etc.

 

Projektplanungstag

Diese Tage dienen dem Gedankenaustausch zu den ausgewählten Themen und weiteren Umsetzung der Projekte. Einige Projekte dienen der Finanzierung von Aktivitäten in der Gemeinde, vor allem aber sind sie zur Bewußtseinsbildung gedacht, um so andere junge Menschen dazu anzuregen, sich ehrenamtlich sozial zu engagieren.

Bespiele für Projekte:

  • Organisation von einer Rallye;
  • Bereitstellung von Informationsständen im Zuge von Festlichkeiten in der Gemeinde;
  • Seniorenveranstaltungen;
  • Teilnahme am Rote Kreuz-Fest;
  • Drehen von Amateurfilmen;
  • Teilnahme an internationalen Jugendprojekten.

 

Projekttag

Im Laufe dieser Tage widmen wir uns der letzten Schritte in der Projektvorbereitung, der Organisation notwendiger Materialien, Informationsblätter sowie Verkaufsartikel für die verschiedenen Feste in der Gemeinde Differdange.

 

Verdienstvolle Jugend

Wir organisieren jedes Jahr spielerische Aktivitäten sowie Sport- und Kulturtage für die verdienstvollsten Mitglieder, wobei wir uns hiermit für ihre Teilnahme, ihr persönliches Engagement für die Gemeinde und ihre Unterstützung im Zuge der Organisation von Veranstaltungen erkenntlich zeigen. Zu diesen Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten gehören Ski-Wochenenden, Entdeckungstage mit dem Kanu oder Kayak, Halloween-Abende, Kart-Fahren, Besuche von Zoos oder Vergnügungsparks, etc.