2755

Local Luxembourg Red Cross – Differdange Youth Section

The young members of the Luxembourg Red Cross’ Youth Section in Differdange are very active and regularly organise events and projects to raise awareness for the Red Cross and its principles.

 

Objectives

  • To offer educational activities to young individuals to allow them to develop their individual personalities and to encourage social awareness;
  • To regroup individuals of all nationalities and backgrounds around an engaging voluntary work experience in the community of Differdange and its surroundings;
  • To motivate and help young individuals organize social and humanitarian projects;
  • To foster a close partnership with Red Cross Youth activities;
  • To encourage exchange and collaborations with other youth organisations in the community.

 

Activities

All young individuals from the age of 9 and up are welcome to join the group. Every week the group meets on Saturday from 9am-5pm. The four Saturdays in a month are divided in the following manner: two “discovery days” (Wëssensdaag), one “project planning day” (Virbereedungsdaag), and one “project day” (Projektdaag). 

Discovery Days

The youth members propose days with different topics according to their interests. The chosen topics are then researched in smaller groups. After finishing planning and preparing the projects/topics, the individual groups present their findings to the other members. Older volunteers, who lead the discussions among the younger members, propose and present current topics that focus on social and humanitarian matters. Other discussed topics include precautionary measures for risk prevention (regarding lifestyle, alcohol, drugs, etc.) 

Project Planning Days

These days are dedicated to thinking and reflecting about the projects the group has committed to and wishes to develop. These projects serve to finance some of the Section’s activities; however, they also encourage other young peers to join this social effort and volunteer.

Examples of projects:

  • Organising a rally
  • Holding an information stand during events
  • Doing activities with the elderly
  • Participating in Red Cross events
  • Making amateur films
  • Participating in international youth projects

 

 

Project Days

These days are dedicated to the final preparations for the projects and the organisation of the necessary materials, flyers, and items needed for the different occasions. 

Meritorious individuals

Every year, recreational activities and sports or cultural visits are organised for the most dedicated young members. The merit is based on days present and the personal investment in and contributions toward the section’s work in local activities. Examples of such activities and visits include: a weekend skiing, a weekend discovery of canoeing and kayaking, Halloween night, a day of carting, a visit to the zoo or to an amusement park, etc.  

Prix Mérite Jeunesse

The “Prix Mérite Jeunesse” (Youth merit award) is an excellent way to motivate young individuals to engage themselves in different activities of voluntary work. On January 24, 2008, His Royal Highness the Grand Duke of Luxembourg Jean, Prince Guillaume, and the Minister Marie-Josée Jacobs submitted the Mérite Jeunesse insignia to 98 young individuals from around the country after having proven their capacities in the following categories: skill, expedition, voluntary work, and sports. 11 young members of the Red Cross’ Differdange Youth Section received bronze awards.

“In November 2003, after a friend informed me about the different activities, I joined the Red Cross’ Youth Section in Differdange. I attended the first session and was immediately hooked. The “Mérite Jeunesse” award was a unique experience. For the expedition, we planned a trip to Berg where I helped mentor and supervise young children. We organised a really fun Halloween party. I also helped with a cooking activity which I, even though I’m not a big fan of cooking, really enjoyed. I learned that I can enjoy any activity if I am part of a motivated group. On December 6, 2007, dressed as angels, Father Christmas and Knecht Ruprecht, we visited the elderly at the Chomé home in Luxembourg City. It was really fun. “Cindy, 16 years old, young volunteer with the Youth Section in Differdange.

2755

Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise de la Jeunesse – Section Differdange

Les jeunes membres de la section de la Croix-Rouge luxembourgeoise de la Jeunesse de Differdange sont très actifs dans l’organisation de manifestations et de projets destinés à faire connaître la Croix-Rouge et ses principes auprès des jeunes.

 

Objectifs

  • Proposer des activités pédagogiques aux jeunes afin de leur permettre de développer leur personnalité et de favoriser leur conscience sociale ;
  • Regrouper des personnes de toutes nationalités autour d’un engagement bénévole dans des actions communautaires à Differdange et aux alentours ;
  • Motiver et aider les jeunes à organiser des projets à caractère social ou humanitaire ;
  • Privilégier un partenariat renforcé avec les activités de la Croix-Rouge de la Jeunesse ;
  • Favoriser l’échange avec d’autres organisations de la jeunesse dans la commune.

 

Activités

Le groupe est ouvert à tous les jeunes à partir de 9 ans. Il se réunit une fois par semaine le samedi de 9h à 17h. Les 4 journées par mois sont réparties de la façon suivante : deux journées « Découverte » (Wëssensdaag), une journée « Conception de projets » (Virbereedungsdaag) et une journée « Projet » (Projektdaag).

 

Journées « Découverte »

Les jeunes proposent différentes journées à thèmes, choisies selon leur sensibilité. Les thématiques retenues sont approfondies par petit groupe de travail. Suivant un planning arrêté, le groupe de travail présente le projet ou le sujet traité aux autres membres. Les bénévoles encadrants proposent et présentent de façon ponctuelle des sujets d’actualité à orientation sociale et humanitaire mais aussi dans le domaine des préventions des risques (hygiène de vie, alcool, drogues,…).

 

Journée « Conception de projet »

Ces journées sont destinées à la réflexion sur les projets que le groupe souhaite développer ainsi que sur les démarches à suivre pour leur réalisation. Certains projets serviront à financer les activités de la section mais également à sensibiliser d’autres jeunes à l’engagement bénévole en faveur d’une œuvre sociale.

Exemples de projets :

  • Organisation d’un rallye ;
  • Tenue de stands d’informations lors des manifestations de la commune ;
  • Activités avec des personnes âgées ;
  • Participation à la fête de la Croix-Rouge ;
  • Tournage de films amateurs ;
  • Participation à des projets internationaux pour jeunes.

 

Journée « projet »

Ces journées sont consacrées à la préparation finale des projets ainsi que du matériel nécessaire, des outils d’information et des articles à vendre lors des différentes fêtes de la commune de Differdange.

 

Jeunes méritants

Chaque année sont organisées des activités ludiques et des séjours sportifs et culturels pour les jeunes adhérents les plus méritants selon les jours de présence ainsi que l’investissement personnel à la vie de la section et aux manifestations organisées. Exemples de séjours et activités : Weekend au ski, weekend découverte du canoé cayak, soirée Halloween, journée karting, visite d’un zoo ou d’un parc d’attractions, etc.

 

Prix Mérite Jeunesse

Le prix mérite Jeunesse est un excellent moyen pour motiver les jeunes à s’engager bénévolement dans différents domaines. Le 24 janvier 2008, Son Altessse Royale le Grand-Duc Jean, le Prince Guillaume et Madame la Ministre Marie-Josée Jacobs ont remis les insignes du Mérite Jeunesse à 98 jeunes de tout le pays. 11 membres de la Croix-Rouge de la Jeunesse de Differdange ont obtenu l’insigne de Bronze après avoir fait leurs preuves dans les catégories suivantes : Talents et compétences, expéditions, services volontaires et sport.

« Depuis novembre 2003, je fais partie de la section des jeunes de la Croix-Rouge de Differdange depuis novembre 2003, grâce à une amie qui m’a informé sur les différentes activités de la section. J’ai assisté au premier cours et j’ai immédiatement été fascinée. Le Mérite Jeunesse a été une expérience unique pour moi. Pour l’expédition, nous avons préparé un séjour à Berg où j’ai aidé à encadrer des plus jeunes. Nous avons également organisé une fête d’Halloween, qui a connu beaucoup de succès. J’ai animé une activité de cuisine, qui m’a beaucoup plu, bien que je ne sois pas une grande fan de cuisine. Cette activité m’a permis de comprendre qu’on prend toujours du plaisir lorsqu’on partage une activité avec un groupe motivé. Pendant ce séjour, j’ai également joué au football avec les plus jeunes. Le 6 décembre 2007, nous sommes allés rendre visite aux personnes âgées au foyer Chomé à Luxembourg-Ville, déguisés en ange, en père Noël et en Père Fouettard. C’était très amusant. » Cindy, 16 ans, jeune bénévole de la section des jeunes de Differdange